Our Story

The Trout Hotel has been at the heart of the pretty gem town of Cockermouth for several centuries. Going back to 1670, the hotel was first built as a private residence for the Egremont Estate. It was known as Sandclose and remained so, until it became the Lakes Hotel in 1934.

In the 1960s, as trout and salmon fishing became popular on the River Derwent and River Cocker, the hotel changed its name to the Trout Hotel and over the years, became a favourite retreat of Hollywood legend Bing Crosby, who loved to visit for fishing breaks.

The Trout has been owned by Nigel Mills for over 20 years and he and his long-standing team have continually improved and redeveloped the hotel, in particular overcoming two devastating floods in 2009 and 2015, maintaining it as a beloved place for both locals and visitors.

The Trout now offers 49 chic bedrooms and three dining experiences and prides itself on surpassing guest expectations. We want your stay with us to be truly special.

Exterior photos of The Trout